*
you're reading...
Aside, Opinion

Why give one sex special treatment?

As you may have noticed, I am female.  I’ll wait here while you gasp in surprise. Please don’t get me wrong, I’m pretty sure I’m not a misogynist female, but I will tell you what I am: proud, inordinately stubborn, and occasionally intelligent. Why am I stating things that you’ll know in about 5.5 seconds if you ever get to meet me?

For one very simple reason.  I hate -wait, let me get the emphasis correct- HATE it when anyone says “Well, women and minorities should be judged differently” or “we shouldn’t treat minority and women business owners like just regular business owners with the same challenges as everyone else.”  As I’m not a minority, I can’t speak to the difficulties, challenges, or anything else that someone who is could face and so I have no opinion on how the above statements would make me feel.

However, as a female, albeit a slightly abnormal one, I would like to say that if you think I need a separate standard, you don’t know me very well. Yes, I’m abnormal, but if nothing, I am equal to, and I won’t lie, probably better than, my male counterparts, at least in some aspects. Even as a child “You can’t do that, you’re a GIRL!” would be the sure fire way to get me to try something.

scales

  • Can’t play soccer because I’m a girl?  Watch me. I played all positions, including goalie, for 12 years.
  • Can’t jump over [stupid object]?  Well, you were right, but that happens to be because I’m short and have no ups, which may or may not be related to the fact that I never worked on my vertical lift.  My ovaries probably only had a minor role in that failing. The same goes for other  physical challenges.
  • Can’t know how to drive a manual transmission or at least understand what role my transmission plays in making my car go? I know, you all will be surprised, but in fact, my lack of penis does not mean the workings of gears is beyond my comprehension or ability to use.

Do I face challenges?  Yes. Do males face challenges?  Yes. Are they the same challenges? Well, we’re not the same PERSON, so probably not, however, that doesn’t mean we need to a) belittle their challenges, b) belittle my challenges, c) compare apples and oranges, d) pretend one set is more challenging than the other, or e) give one gender preferential treatment.

If I wanted preferential treatment, well, I’d go somewhere else than the real world.  I don’t know where that is obviously, otherwise I might be stopping there from time to time, just to get a break, so you know, give a girl a heads up if you know where that is, but otherwise, shut it.

I am tougher, stronger, and better because of every challenge I’ve overcome in my life, of which, sadly there really haven’t been that many. If you take away those challenges, you’ll be left with a really pathetic, inept, and incapable person. Challenge is all around us and helps us define ourselves. If I want the easy path, I will choose it. If I want to work and face difficulty, congratulate me if I succeed, but don’t look for a scapegoat if I fail. You know, the same as you’d do for a guy.

I’m an adult.  I don’t need some fantasy world where “it’s ok honey, things are so much more difficult for you so we’ll give you these things that we don’t give to anyone else and don’t worry that you probably still won’t succeed.”  I want the same rules. I want everyone to have the same starting point. I want YOU to understand that I am at least equal to any male. Personally, I know it. Actually, I know that I’m better than you for knowing it.

See, not even equal. Better.  No, I’m not going to apologize for that.

About C Hipke

I do some stuff in the digital world, as well as in the physical world. I could happily talk your ears off on, well, just about anything. I'm an awesome, headache-inducing person with not much humility who is driven to help make the world a better place (and no, I don't care if that sounds corny). My contributions to the world as we know it come in the form of communicating and nitpicking how other people communicate. Gimme a pet and a book and you probably won't hear from me for a while, unless "[Pet], you should(n't) do that!" counts. I will take occasional breaks from reading to play video games and may also grudgingly do some adult things like earn money, shower, eat, and sleep. I may also watch a movie or t.v. show, especially if it's an adult cartoon show. You can follow me on twitter (@hipkec), drop me a line (hipke.ce@gmail.com), or tell me what you're thinking right here because, honestly, I want to know!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Share your thoughts

