*
you're reading...
Community building, Community management, Technology

Give you my permissions? I don’t think so.

You may have read recently that a new career networking service, Identified.com, is like the old reliable, LinkedIn, but sexier.  Good for it. Sounds cool, doesn’t it or at least sexy? We all know sex sells. Shoot, it even hooked me for a second and a half or at least the claim of a … prettier version of LinkedIn, maybe with some really cool functionality did.

I won’t find out though, for one extremely simple reason:

Yes, I know, I’m a social media semi-para-pseudo professional. I should be a-ok with linking everything to everything.

But I’m not.

Does that mean I’m too old, too paranoid, too something negative to be a social media professional? I don’t think so. It does mean that while yes, having other things linked to things does occasionally make sharing, socializing, and even potentially networking easier, it also creeps me out. We’ve all read entirely too many times about credit cards or banks getting hacked. I’m sorry to say but I don’t think Facebook has quite the level or layers of security that a bank does. Even if they did, obviously that doesn’t make them exempt from being hacked.

Ok, so maybe I’m paranoid. Call it survival instinct, call it paranoia, you can even call me crazy if you want to (you’ll be with the rest of the crowd on that, for a variety of reasons) but having, potentially, all of my information of any kind in one place, be that place digital, physical, or some other third option that’s not my brain, makes my skin crawl. Give me the option to link  my social accounts or to sign in using my social accounts, ok. Force me to use them to make my account, then only allow me to use one account, not ok.

But that’s just me. How do you feel about being required to link your social accounts? Would you at least like a selection of accounts that you’re allowed to link to? Does this make your skin not crawl?

About C Hipke

I do some stuff in the digital world, as well as in the physical world. I could happily talk your ears off on, well, just about anything. I'm an awesome, headache-inducing person with not much humility who is driven to help make the world a better place (and no, I don't care if that sounds corny). My contributions to the world as we know it come in the form of communicating and nitpicking how other people communicate. Gimme a pet and a book and you probably won't hear from me for a while, unless "[Pet], you should(n't) do that!" counts. I will take occasional breaks from reading to play video games and may also grudgingly do some adult things like earn money, shower, eat, and sleep. I may also watch a movie or t.v. show, especially if it's an adult cartoon show. You can follow me on twitter (@hipkec), drop me a line (hipke.ce@gmail.com), or tell me what you're thinking right here because, honestly, I want to know!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Give you my permissions? I don’t think so.

  1. ANYTHING that involved Facebook makes my skin crawl. And any network that invokes or involves Facebook falls right off my radar. I don’t think you’re crazy. I don’t want to have to link my social accounts, and I hate that more & more they are all asking us to do so. Thanks for the heads up on Identified.

    Posted by diamoonwillow | August 21, 2012, 4:13 pm
    • You’re very welcome Dia! I don’t mind if I have the choice to link and which to link, not so much, but a requirement is a whole different story. On the upside, this is the interwebz; I bet there will be another option that won’t require me to do anything in short order!

      Posted by C Hipke | August 21, 2012, 4:28 pm

Share your thoughts

